top of page

The Dilemma of the Coach Potato Martial Arts "Expert"

The dilemma of the Internet Sleuth Martial Arts Aficionado, so with the rise of the internet and YouTube. We have a lot of armchair critics out there whom consume videos of training and think since they've watched a love of videos of training that they understand combat and are experts based on consuming biased opinions on the Internet.


The problem is that some aren't training with anyone or pressure testing through sparring so they have ideas of what they think would work but haven't pressure tested anything so they don't know what works but they believe they know.


It is amusing to me that I've had people who I know haven't trained but consumed a lot of Internet videos try and critique things I teach and it's amusing because we've pressure tested things and my students can apply things under pressure. So when I get the comment that wouldn't work online I laugh because we pressure test things and make it work.


When I get guys who show up and before we practice the technique or pressure test it start with the "but I saw," or "this would work better," at this point I like to have them try it and then show them that it works because actually training and sparring can show you what the internet and your mind observing videos can't.


Some of the guys who have so much ISMAA clogging up their brains that get stuck and unhappy and end up not training because they think they know better. The problem is they are consuming videos without training and applying. It's not the art or knowledge it's the practitioner and the application of training and sparring that makes a martial artist functional.


The moral of the story is if you're contacted by an ISMAA invite then to come train and spar and pressure test to show the errors of their ISMAA based theories. Stop watching so much YouTube and start training.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page